Blanca Zaks

Home | Moors We’ve Lost | Reunion | Biographies | Feedback | Classmates | Reunion Committee | Announcements


Question Answer
Your name Blanca Zaks Hadar
Your name in school, if different Blanca Zaks
If you're bringing someone to the reunion, please describe your guest My two daughters, Adena Hopenstand and Dr. Elana Schwartz.
Alhambra elementary school(s) attended Fremont Elementary School
Current occupation (e.g., retired, working full/part time, volunteering, caring for family, other) I am an attorney with the Los Angeles City Attorneys’ Office, but am considering retiring soon after over 40 years with this office as a litigator.
Describe your family/extended family I have two married daughters and two grandchildren (3 year old grandson and infant granddaughter) and another granddaughter expected in early August, 2014.
How have you gained knowledge or continued your education after high school? After Alhambra High School, I attended UCLA for my undergraduate degree (in Political Science) and then graduated USC School of Law with a Juris Doctorate.
What would like to share about your life's work? I have spent the entirety of my legal career in public service, primarily working for the Office of the Los Angeles City Attorney. I began as a criminal prosecutor, but have enjoyed a long career as a civil litigator (trial attorney).
What special interests and/or activities have you enjoyed during the last half century? I love to travel and, over the years, I have travelled to many countries in a number of continents. In the last twenty years, I have enjoyed country western dancing (line dancing, west coast swing, etc.) I have also become active in the Los Angeles Museum of the Holocaust, a museum that my parents co-founded, and look forward to becoming increasingly involved as I currently sit on the Board of Directors. I also take pleasure in being a grandmother and spending time with my grandchildren.
Please share the highlights of the places you've lived or traveled I have lived in Los Angeles, but have travelled to such diverse places as Argentina, Chile, China, Israel, Soviet Union, Vietnam as well as many countries in Europe. Just a few months ago, I returned from a trip to Spain, Portugal, and Morocco. I am hoping to take a trip to Central Europe soon (Hungary, Czech Republic, Austria, and Germany).
What are your favorite books or movies? I am an avid movie fan and love to see the latest films.
What were your favorite songs or artists from 1960 to 1964. What genre of music and type of dance do you enjoy most? Bobby Vinton, Paul and Paula, Peter, Paul and Mary, Andy Williams, Bobby Darin, Four Seasons, etc.
How do you spend your quality time? Spending time with my family (grandchildren) and friends.
What do you still hope to accomplish or experience? (What's left on your bucket list?) Additional travel, and the growth and development of my grandchildren.

Copyright © 2013 AHS64-Alumni. All rights reserved.